Skyraider Polo - Preservation Program

€74.17

Entirely made by us in France. 100% wool tweed.

COLOR: gray tweed

Size
Couleur
Quantity

THE AJBS

The Jean-Baptiste Salis Association

The old cuckoos do not tolerate asphalt... with this first truth, it is thus on an "airfield" that one can find the atmosphere of the first days of aeronautics, the enthusiasm of the pioneers and the passion of beautiful things!

To perpetuate the spirit of the "Pilots of Remembrance" created in 1929 by Jean-Baptiste Salis, "l'Amicale Aéronautique de Cerny" became "l'Amicale Jean-Baptiste Salis" in 1972 and welcomes you to the Cerny La Ferté Alais airfield where it has set itself the following objectives :

To preserve and maintain in flight condition vintage aircraft and to promote the aeronautical heritage.

To build or rebuild aircraft belonging to the history of aviation and to transmit the knowledge in this field.

To facilitate and popularize the practice of aviation by both state and private means.

To establish between all pilots, mechanics and other members of the Association a center of friendly relations.

To maintain a certain state of mind, by perpetuating the memory of Jean-Baptiste Salis.

Today, the Association has 300 members, of which about 60 are very active and work, both during the week and at weekends, to maintain our 30 historic aircraft in flying condition, as well as those of private individuals who are fully involved in the operation of the AJBS.

The Skyraider

The Douglas AD-4N Skyraider Cn 7449 was built at the Douglas El Segundo plant in California.

On February 6, 1960, the 123143, after being overhauled and equipped with French avionics was delivered to the French Air Force.

In 1972, it was taken into account by the Gabonese Air Force and registered TR-KFP. It was one of the eight Skyraiders given to Gabon, where they were flown by French mercenaries serving in the presidential guard. It flew in Gabon until 1984.

The repatriation of this aircraft was a great adventure; indeed after bitter negotiations led by Jean SALIS with the Gabonese government and the French authorities, the authorization was finally granted to import and register these aircraft in France; it will be the first warbird operated by civilians in the country.

In 1985, it became the property of the Amicale Jean Baptiste Salis located in La Ferté-Alais and registered F-AZDP. It is painted in the colors of BuNo 124143, RM-205 of the VA-176 "Thunderbolt", embarked on the USS Saratoga. The aircraft flew as an A-1 Skyraider from 1955 until 1966 and participated in the Vietnam conflict. On October 9, 1966, Lieutenant William T. Patton made VA 176 famous for shooting down a North Vietnamese MiG 17. He was the first and only pilot to shoot down an enemy jet in a propeller-driven fighter during the Vietnam conflict.

Repatriated and restored, it is certainly one of the prides of the Amicale but for sure its biggest single engine and its biggest propeller !

Its first annual start-up is the sign of the beginning of the meeting season, where the tone will be given by the noise of its Wright, the impact of the air spun by its propeller and the majesty of its tight evolutions...

New Account Register

Already have an account?
Log in instead Or Reset password

Polo Skyraider - Preservation Program

74,17 €

Entièrement réalisés par nos soins en France. 100% tweed de laine. 

COULEUR : tweed gris

Taille
Couleur
Quantité

L’Amicale Jean-Baptiste Salis

Les vieux coucous ne tolèrent pas le bitume… fort de cette première vérité, c’est donc sur un « champ d’aviation » que l’on peut retrouver l’ambiance des premiers jours de l’aéronautique, l’enthousiasme des pionniers et la passion des belles choses !

Pour perpétuer l’esprit des « Pilotes du souvenir » créé en 1929 par Jean-Baptiste Salis, « l’Amicale Aéronautique de Cerny » devenue «l’Amicale Jean-Baptiste Salis» en 1972 vous accueille sur l’aérodrome de Cerny La Ferté Alais ou elle s’est donnée comme objectifs de :

Préserver et de maintenir en état de vol des avions de collection et de valoriser le patrimoine aéronautique.

De construire ou reconstruire des appareils appartenant à l’histoire de l’aviation et de transmettre le savoir faire dans ce domaine.

De faciliter et vulgariser la pratique de l’aviation tant par les moyens d’État que par les moyens privés.

D’établir entre tous les pilotes, mécaniciens et autres membres de l’Association un centre de relations amical.

Maintenir un certain état d’esprit, en perpétuant le souvenir de Jean-Baptiste Salis.

L’Amicale compte aujourd’hui 300 membres dont une soixantaine très actifs qui œuvrent, tant en semaine que les week-ends, au maintien en état de vol de nos 30 avions historiques, et de ceux des particuliers totalement investis dans le fonctionnement de l’AJBS.

Le Douglas AD-4N Skyraider Cn 7449 a été construit à l’usine de Douglas El Segundo, en Californie.

Le 6 Février 1960, le 123143, après être révisé et équipé d’une avionique française à été livré à l’Armée de l’Air. 

En 1972, il est pris en compte par l’Armée de l’Air Gabonaise et immatriculé TR-KFP. Il fut l’un des huit Skyraiders donnés au Gabon, où ils étaient pilotés par des mercenaires français servant dans la garde présidentielle. Il a volé au Gabon jusqu’en 1984.

Le rapatriement de cet avion, fut une grande aventure; en effet après d’âpres négociations menées par Jean SALIS avec le gouvernement Gabonais et les autorités Françaises, l’autorisation fut enfin accordée d’importer et d’immatriculer ces avions en France; ce sera le premier warbird mis en oeuvre par des civils dans le pays.

En 1985, il devint propriété de l’Amicale Jean Baptiste Salis implantée à La Ferté-Alais et immatriculé F-AZDP. Il est peint aux couleurs du BuNo 124143, RM-205 de la VA-176 « Thunderbolt », embarquée sur l’USS Saratoga. L’appareil à volé comme A-1 Skyraider de 1955 jusqu’en 1966 et a participé au conflit Vietnamien. Le 9 Octobre, 1966 le Lieutenant William T. Patton fit la renommée de la VA 176 pour avoir abattu un MiG 17 nord-vietnamien. Il fut le premier et seul pilote à abattre un avion ennemi a réaction à bord d’un chasseur à hélices, pendant le conflit du Vietnam.

Rapatrié et restauré, il est certainement l’une des fiertés de l’Amicale mais à coup sur son plus gros monomoteur et sa plus grande hélice !

Sa première mise en route annuelle est le signe de démarrage de la saison de meeting, ou le ton sera donné par le bruit de son Wright, l’impact de l’air vrillé par son hélice et la majesté de ses évolutions serrées…

Nouveau compte S'inscrire